Follow Us

Stream: Tuxedo – “2nd Time Around” *disco/funk

March 8th, 2017 by | Disco, Electropop, Pop, R&B, synthpop |

I love the future disco/funk vibes of Tuxedo and I’m so excited to share the first release from their upcoming album Tuxedo II (pre-order) out March 24 through Stones Throw Records. “2nd Time Around” continues the impressive upbeat debut release Tuxedo dropped in 2015 and I can’t wait for this 2nd album as it will be wholly original yet still draw influence from the future funk wobble of Zapp, Gap, Jam/Lewis and Junie Morrison, while nodding lyrically to Mtume, Jodeci and Cameo.

Tuxedo is Mayer Hawthorne and Jake One. The crystallization of their 2nd album’s concept comes courtesy of its message of universal love; thanks to the signature combination of soul and pop sensibility that have come to define Mayer’s hook. I can’t wait to hear the full length, definitely buying this album when it drops!

Stream “2nd Time Around” below, watch them perform it live on Jimmy Kimmel Live and peep the upcoming tour dates, you do not want to miss this duo live!


US TOUR DATES:

Sat. March 25 – Los Angeles, CA @ Regent Theater (Album release party)
Fri. May 12 – Santa Cruz, CA @ The Catalyst
Sat. May 13 – San Francisco, CA @ The Independent – SOLD OUT
Sun. May 14 – San Francisco, CA @ The Independent
Tues. May 16 – Portland, OR @ Wonder Ballroom
Wed. May 17 – Seattle, WA @ Neumos
Fri. May 19 – Bellingham, WA @ Wild Buffalo
Wed. May 31 – Boston, MA @ Boston Music Hall
Thurs. June 01 – New York, NY @ Webster Hall
Fri. June 02 – Washington, DC @ U Street Music Hall
Sat. June 03 – Philadelphia, PA @ Union Transfer
Mon. June 05 – Atlanta, GA @ Masquerade
Thurs. June 08 – Asheville, NC @ Orange Peel
Fri. June 09 – Nashville, TN @ Exit/In
Sat. June 10 – Detroit, MI @ Music Hall
Mon. June 12 – Minneapolis, MN @ Fine Line
Tues. June 13 – Chicago, IL @ Thalia Hall
Thurs. June 15 – Ann Arbor, MI @ Sonic Lunch



Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


Empowered by My Advanced Settings, by Xhanch Studio