Follow Us

Split Second – Innoncence (Nero Remix)

October 3rd, 2010 by | Dance, Dubstep, Hip-Hop/Rap, House, Remix |
JJ from Split Second sent this over to me and if you like house/dubstep and you like hip-hop in it, then you will really like this. I would categorize it electro/hip-hop, which is a genre that keeps growing. Here’s what JJ had to say about this song:

Basically we are in the midst of working on two projects. The first one will be a mixture of house/dubstep/electro sounds. It’ll have about 8 tracks on it and will be called SKUB TIL TAGET which means Push The Roof. This song is basically a preview to what the project will sound like.  Split Second x Nero – Innocence(Remix) by SplitSecond 

If you haven’t heard their remix to Foster the People’s “Pumped Up Kicks”, here’s that song too.  Split Second – Pumped Up Kicks [Ft. Loggy] by BeforeBigsZach 

Previous: “Pumped Up Kicks” , Introducing: Split Second

Prospect of the Week: ¡MAYDAY!

October 1st, 2010 by | Alternative/Indie, Hip-Hop/Rap, Prospect of the Week |

This Florida-based alternative hip-hop crew is Prospect of the Week because recently they released their Lords of the Fly mixtape (which has an awesome diverse unique sound) and on October 12, their long awaited sophomore studio album, Stuck on an Island, hits stores.

In the mixtape they have some really good Lil Wayne remixes, but the songs I truly enjoy are their originals including “Groundhog Day” ft. Cee-Lo Green, “Miles To Go”, and “Robot Rock (Freestyle)”. Fun fact, ¡MAYDAY! was Weezy’s backing band on “Da Da Da”, “Get A Life”, and “On Fire” which they remix on this mixtape.

With the Miami-natives upcoming sophomore album coming out soon, I only see this group growing in popularity, espcially when they start touring after their album drops.

If you like ¡MAYDAY!, check out their facebook and look out for thier upcoming album, Stuck on an Island.

Read more to see the mixtape cover art and 26-song tracklisting. Enjoy!

01. Brace for Impact!
02. Press Conference A
03. The Future is Now!
04. $nowbird
05. Press Conference B
06. Lil Wayne “Get a Life” (Exclusive ¡MAYDAY! Remix)
07. Robot Rock (Freestyle)
08. Red Carpet Affair (Miami Beat Wave Remix)
09. No Comp (feat. STS)
10. Press Conference C
11. Groundhog Day (ft. Cee-lo Green, Mack Maine & Ghostwridah) (Movers n’ Shakers Remix)
12. They Told Me (ft. NORE) (“It’s Buttery” Remix)
13. Lil Wayne “DaDaDa” (Exclusive ¡MAYDAY! Remix)
14. Sweat Shop (Freestyle)
15. Press Conference D
16. Tech N9ne “Big Bad Wolf” (¡MAYDAY! Red Moon Remix)
17. Gitcha Own
18. Black Shades [co-prod. Jim Jonsin]
19. Give Em’ A Song (ft. David Banner & Snave Nayr)
20. Press Conference E
21.Starting Over
22. Lil Wayne “On Fire” (Exclusive ¡MAYDAY! Remix)
23. Evil (Extremely Evil Mix)
24. Miles to Go
25. Nothin (ft. Devin the Dude) (Remix)
26. Press Conference F

Fortune Family – “My Energy”

September 27th, 2010 by | Hip-Hop/Rap |
“Music is my life/music is my energy” – Fortune Family
Hearing that line in the chorus of this song just increases my interest in this independant hip-hop group, Fortune Family. Their passion, their drive, it shows in this music video for their newest single, “My Energy”.
It’s a good upbeat track and compared to their first music video, Fortune Family is only getting better.
Download “My Energy” and as a bonus listen to my favorite Fortune Family track, “Let It Go”, which we featured on our End of Summer 2010 mix: Best You Never Heard.
Listen (and download on Mac control-click; PC: right click) to “Let It Go” by Fortune Family.
Fortune Family – Let it Go

Hidden Gem: Triple J

September 23rd, 2010 by | Hidden Gem, Hip-Hop/Rap |
We talked about upcoming genre-blending act, The Band Eclypse before. But we haven’t talked about on of their MC’s, Triple J. He’s talented and brings a fresh look to the hip hop scene. Once The Band Eclypse get’s big (let’s say 2011), many more people are going to recognize Triple J.
In June, Triple J put out a free mixtape, Of Mics And Men. It’s an underrated mixtape with several tracks we at Before the Bigs really enjoy.
Download Triple J’s Of Mics and Men (mixtape)

If your not convinced, listen and download “Caught Up”, “PursuIT” and “Tribute”.  Caught Up (Featuring Jonny Price) by TripleJ BandEclypse  PursuIT (Featuring Emma Henderson) by TripleJ BandEclypse Tribute by TripleJ BandEclypse

Check out more posts on Triple J and The Band Eclypse. Enjoy!

new mixtape! Prolific – “Now or Never”

September 3rd, 2010 by | Album/Mixtape/EP Review, Hip-Hop/Rap |

Check out Prolific and DJ Rok’s new mixtape, Now or Never, which came out this week and features all four members of the rap-quartet Prolific. This tape includes the latest leak “My Life” and the new jam, “KO”.

Below is the tracklisting and download link to Now or Never.

Download: NewEraMusik and Presents: Prolific-Now Or Never

Check out TeamProlific if you enjoy Prolific’s music!

BTB Exclusive: Prolific

August 16th, 2010 by | Before Bigs Exclusive, Hip-Hop/Rap, Miscellaneous |
The hip-hop group Prolific started back in 1997 and consists of four MC’s: Flamez, Neme, Zin O.D. and Exile the Experience. They all met while living in Orlando, Florida and through the years this dynamic quartet has released a series of mixtapes and singles.
In late August they are dropping a new mixtape with DJ Rok, Now or Never. The song above, “The Real” and “Getting Down” are two songs Prolific has exclusively provided BTB which will be off hte upcoming DJ Rok tape. Prolific also has an EP they are working on called The Movement that features “Spell on You” featuring Nina Simone and “Situations”.
I really think if you respect and enjoy old school hip-hop and if you are like this blog in that you like discovering new music talent, then you will enjoy Prolific.  Prolific – Getting Down by BeforeTheBigsZach  Prolific – Spell On You (feat. Nina Simone) by BeforeTheBigsZach  Prolific-situations (dirty) (mastered) by neme_pro

If you like Prolific, then check out their website and myspace page. Enjoy!

Empowered by My Advanced Settings, by Xhanch Studio